Para Los Niños

Minutes, CHARTER Board Meeting

August 7, 2023, 2:00 pm

Weingart Foundation - 700 S. Flower St., Suite 1900, Los Angeles, CA, 90017

Board Members			
Marjorie E. Lewis, Chair	Х	John Wasley	Х
Cathy Hession, Vice Chair	Х	Jose Tejada	Х
Ronnie Roy, Secretary		Joshua Ludmir (remote, within county)	Х
Andrei Muresianu		Lorraine Prieto Berchtold	Х
Andrew Herreria		Malin Wong	Х
Sandra Aispuro		Mark Pan	
Camilo Becdach		Murray McQueen	Х
Cindy Winebaum (remote, outside county)	Х	Parker Morse	Х
Gabriel Robles	Х	Walter Parkes	
Susan Edelman		Bill Burton	

Quorum: Yes

PLN Staff			
Drew Furedi, President & CEO			
Esperanza Bacilio, Sr. Executive Assistant & Board Liaison	Х		
Katherine Nelson, VP of Student Success	Х		
Dan Nieman, VP of External Affairs	Х		
Sarah Figueroa-Freeman, COO	Х		
Deanette Brewer, VP of Human Resources	Х		
Camille Gonzalez, CFO	Х		
Sam Joo, VP of Student & Community Services			
Blanca Medrano, Managing Director, Operations and Procurement			
Cecilia Hernandez, Managing Director, Expanded Learning			
Guests: none			

- 1. Welcome and Call to Order- Meeting was called to order by M. Lewis at 2:20 pm
 - a) Agenda reviewed and approved.
 - b) Minutes from June 22, 2023, were reviewed and approved. C. Hession moved to approve the minutes; seconded by L. Prieto Berchtold. Roll call vote was held, and the motion was unanimously approved.
- 2. Charter School Board Business: Updates on the following topics were provided by K. Nelson.
 - a. Renewal relief
 - b. Enrollment: Update on projected enrollment
 - c. Equity Driven Leadership Initiative
 - d. Staff updates
- 3. Action/Consent Items:
 - a) 2023-24 Updated Board Calendar

- b) ConApp 2023-24 Charter Elementary School, Gratts Primary Center, Charter Middle School
- c) Approval of teacher under Local Assignment Policy

M. Lewis requested a motion for approval of the above Charter Business and Action/Consent Items. C. Hession moved to approve, the motion was seconded by J. Wasley and unanimously approved. Roll call vote was held, and the motion was unanimously approved.

Adjourn: 2:50 pm

Board Secretary